

Hart County Board of Commissioners Tuesday June 27, 2023 6:00 p.m.

Emergency Services and Administration Building

- 1. PRAYER
- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- CALL TO ORDER
- 4. WELCOME
- APPROVE AGENDA
- 6. APPROVE MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING(S)
 - 06/13/2023 Regular Meeting
- 7. REMARKS BY INVITED GUESTS, COMMITTEES, AUTHORITIES
- 8. REPORTS BY CONSTITUTIONAL OFFICERS & DEPARTMENT HEADS.
- 9. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT
- 10. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT
- 11. COMMISSIONERS' REPORTS

12. OLD BUSINESS

- a) De-Annexation Request Joshua Barnett, Parcel C17A-081 (Town of Bowersville) (no Action 6/13/23 Meeting)
- b) De-Annexation Request Brad Cook, Parcel C17-042-001 and Betty Cook, Parcel C17-042 (Town of Bowersville) (no Action 6/13/23 Meeting)
- c) Property Tax Refund Request Bobby Martin (tax years 2016,2017,2018,2019)
- d) Subdivision Moratorium Extension

13. NEW BUSINESS

- a) Northeast Georgia Animal Shelter Budget Increase Request
- b) FY 24 Avita Community Partners, Hart County Transit Agreement
- c) De-Annexation Request Wesley Roberts, Parcel C03-013 (Town of Bowersville)
- d) De-Annexation Request James Holcomb, Parcel C17A-083 (Town of Bowersville)
- e) De-Annexation Request David and Melissa Holloway, Parcels C17A-082 and C17A-083-001 (Town of Bowersville)
- f) De-Annexation Request Carol Bryant, Parcel C17A-043 (Town of Bowersville)
- g) Board of Education Tax Levy Resolution
- h) Credit for Experience Road Department
- i) Majestic Shores Lane Road Abandonment Request
- j) Duplex Ordinance First Reading
- k) FY 22 Final Budget Amendments
- I) De-Annexation Request Hart County Parcel C17-070
- 14. PUBLIC COMMENT

- 15. EXECUTIVE SESSION Litigation Personnel 16. ADJOURNMENT

Hart County Board of Commissioners June 27, 2023 6:00 p.m.

Hart County Board of Commissioners met June 27, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. at the Hart County Administrative & Emergency Services Center.

Chairman Marshall Sayer presided with Commissioners Michael Bennett, Frankie Teasley, Jeff Brown and Joey Dorsey in attendance.

1. Prayer

Prayer was offered by Chairman Sayer.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Everyone stood in observance of the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Call to Order

Chairman Sayer called the meeting to order.

4. Welcome

Chairman Sayer welcomed those in attendance.

5. Approve Agenda

Commissioner Teasley moved to amend and approve the meeting agenda to include items 12 d) Subdivision Moratorium Extension; and 13 l) De-Annexation Request Hart County Parcel C17-070. Commissioner Bennett provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

- 6. Approve Minutes of Previous Meeting(s)
- 06/13/2023 Regular Meeting

Commissioner Bennett moved to approve the minutes of June 13, 2023 regular meeting as amended. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

7. Remarks By Invited Guests, Committees, Authorities

None

8. Reports By Constitutional Officers & Department Heads

None

9. County Administrator's Report

County Administrator Terrell Partain thanked everyone involved with the recent drowning near Payne's Creek boat ramp.

10. Chairman's Report

Chairman Sayer encouraged everyone to download Code Red weather warning app.

11. Commissioners' Reports

Commissioner Bennett thanked everyone involved with the Pre 4th Event and fireworks display.

Commissioner Teasley thanked Hartwell Service League for organizing the Pre 4th Event; law enforcement, GSP, DNR personnel for their involvement with the drowning.

Commissioner Brown reported GDOT is searching for historical landmarks in and around Canon that may be located in the area of the proposed four lane around Canon.

Commissioner Dorsey reported GDOT will be replacing bridges located on Cokesbury Highway, Coldwater Creek and Cedar Creek; tax notices were mailed out last week with estimated taxes per last years mill rate.

12. Old Business

c) Property Tax Refund Request Bobby Martin (tax years 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Commissioner Dorsey moved to deny the property tax refund request for years 2016 – 2019 that is outside the time frame of the guidelines. Commissioner Bennett provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

d) Subdivision Moratorium Extension

Commissioner Bennett moved to extend the moratorium for an additional 180 days. Commissioner Dorsey provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

13. New Business

a) Northeast Georgia Animal Shelter Budget Increase Request

Pam Stone, DVM representing NEGAS Board of Directors requested restoring their budget to the previous year of \$81,840 to cover operational and maintenance cost; also reported they are building an additional facility to accommodate their needs.

Commissioner Dorsey moved to wait until further review of funding availability. The motion died from lack of a second.

Donna Henry committed to raising funds for the animal shelter to cover the additional cost for the budget year.

b) FY24 Avita Community Partners, Hart County Transit Agreement

Commissioner Bennett moved to approve FY24 Avita Transit Agreement. Commissioner Teasley provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

g) Board of Education Tax Levy Resolution

Commissioner Bennett moved to authorize Chairman Sayer to sign the Tax Levy Resolution. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion based upon the outcome of TSPLOST vote. The motion carried 5-0.

h) Credit for Experience Road Department

Commissioner Dorsey moved to grant six years credit for experience to new hire John Sullivan. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

i) Majestic Shores Lane Road Abandonment Request

The sole property owner on Majestic Shores Lane withdrew the road abandonment request.

j) Duplex Ordinance First Reading

Commissioner Bennett moved to take the first reading of the Duplex Ordinance. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

k) FY22 Final Budget Amendments

Commissioner Dorsey moved to approve the FY22 Final Budget Amendment Resolution. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

I) De-Annexation Request Hart County, Parcel C17-070 (Town of Bowersville)

Commissioner Dorsey moved to approve De-annexation Parcel C17-070 on behalf of Hart County. Commissioner Teasley provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

- a) De-Annexation Request Joshua Barnett, Parcel C17A-081 (Town of Bowersville)
- b) De-Annexation Request Brad Cook, Parcel C17-042-001 and Betty Cook, Parcel C17-042
- c) De-Annexation Request Wesley Roberts, Parcel C03-013
- d) De-Annexation Request James Holcomb, Parcel C17A-083
- e) De-Annexation Request David and Melissa Holloway, Parcels C17A-082 and C17A-083-001
- f) De-Annexation Request Carol Bryant, Parcel C17A-043

Commissioner Dorsey moved to authorize Chairman Sayer to sign the Resolution Regarding De-Annexation of properties from the Town of Bowersville. Commissioner Brown provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

- 14. Public Comment
- 15. Executive Session Litigation Personnel

Commissioner Brown moved to exit into Executive Session to discuss litigation and personnel matters. Commissioner Teasley provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

Commissioner Teasley moved to reconvene the regular meeting session. Commissioner Bennett provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

Commissioner Dorsey moved to confirm Addressing/Permits pay grade 12. Commissioner Teasley provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

Commissioner Brown moved to include Maintenance Shop Assistant Superintendent to paygrade 20. Commissioner Teasley provided a second to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

16. Adjournment

Commissioner Bennett moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Teasley provided a secon to the motion. The motion carried 5-0.	
Marshall Sayer, Chairman	Lawana Kahn, County Clerk